Install multiple desktops

Hi, all, I am still pretty new to ArcoLinux and Hefftor and like both very much.

For the time being, I am using the XFCE desktop, but would like to try other environments like fvwm3 or i3. My aim is to have several desktops to choose from at the login screen.

I have tried to use the Arcolinux Tweak Tool for the installation, but, to my surprise, none of the desktop I chose could be installed. Apparently, there is some sort of package conflict between Arco Linux and Hefftor.

In a video from Eric Dubois he suggests to install the arcolinix-dconf-all-desktop and the arcolinix-dconf packages before proceeding with the installation, but I try to I do so, I get the following error message:

Failed to commit transaction:
conflicting files:
  - arcolinux-dconf-all-desktops-git: /etc/skel/.config/dconf/user already exists in filesystem (owned by hefftor-xfce-dconf-git)

My question: How can I install several desktops in parallel on Hefftor Linux and is it possible to use the Arcolinux Tweak Tool?

Proceed exactly as you did for your first installation.
All you have to do is choose the correct option from the Calamares installation menu.
In this way you can install two more Hefftor DEs in parallel if you wish.

Sorry, I haven’t looked at the Arco Linux tweak tool yet.

hi, @Kukubima , thanks for your reply.

Have you tried this proceeding - running the installer again - yourself? Does this affect the prior installation in any way? Does the installer detect what is already there?

Yes, that is based on my own experience. :wink:

During the live session you can change the size of the first partition in the partition manager, set up the size of the future partition or leave it to the calamares installation.
If the first partition takes up the entire hard disk, it is halved for the second partition. If the 1st partition takes up part of the hard disk, the 2nd partition is formatted on the remaining space.

Good luck!