Differences with Hefftor XFCE and that of other OSs

Hi, to all.

I am relatively new to Arch, Arco and Hefftor Linux, and, after a couple of months of testing, I must say that I love Hefftor Linux each day more. It is really pleasant to the eye, and easy and efficient to work with, even for a newby like me.

A really great surprise for me has also been the XFCE desktop. I have always thought of XFCE as of being a less polished and maybe a “little behind” environment, but the resourcefulness and the looks are really surprising me.

On Ubuntu, which I used for over five years, I have mainly tried Gnome, Budgie and KDE, and the one liked the least … was KDE. I just couldn’t get myself familiar with the thousands of possible - for me unnecessary - configuration details, and I just didn’t like the looks and feel. (But that is just me thinking aloud.)

To my own surprise and skepticism, I loved the Hefftor XFCE desktop right from the beginning. It is simple and fast, pleasant to the eye and efficient, and every configuration option I need is right there in Settings Manager, and I don’t have to dig for ages for a fitting theme or a matching window title.

Well, since I am still relatively new to XFCE, I wonder in what way the Hefftor XFCE desktop might be different to that of other operating systems like Ubuntu or Arch, or if the desktops environments are essentially all quite the same. What are the main differences between the Hefftor XFCE desktop and that of a different OS?

Da’cord!

I don’t have a comparison as I’m a plasma guy and only use KDE.
When I watch Tylor Tech’s tutorial videos, I notice that xfce is a real eye candy that certainly doesn’t only appeal to users with older hardware.

What did you mean by haptics?
As far as I know, haptics has something to do with the sense of touch, such as the usability of a touchscreen or keyboard, mouse, etc. But maybe I just misunderstood you.

Hi @Kukubima , thanks for your feedback.